Student productions

After School Productions

Open to any student regardless of past experience

Learn More

Production Conservatory

A comprehensive experience for motivated theatre students

learn more

Productions By-Invitation

Veteran Highwood students perform in advanced student or mixed productions

learn more

What to expect

How We Schedule Rehearsals

  • We set "potential rehearsal dates" for the Production (see below for the potential dates).  All rehearsals will be scheduled on those dates.
  • After you register for or are accepted into the Production, you get our "Dates Survey."  This survey lists all the potential rehearsal dates during the time period of rehearsals.
  • Families fill out the Dates Survey, marking days they can and cannot make.  
  • We take that information and come up with a rehearsal schedule that honors all families' conflicts.

The Rehearsal Schedule

  • The first three rehearsals are required - all cast members must attend.  For After School Productions: The first one or two initial required rehearsals are generally placement auditions.  The other initial required rehearsals are read-throughs.
  • Each student can expect to have two or three rehearsals per week.
  • During the second-to-last week of the program, we have two “Final Required Rehearsals” to make sure everything comes together.
  • For the final week of the program, we have three “Tech Rehearsals” before the performances.
  • Potential Rehearsal Days:
    • Mondays from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Tuesdays from 6:00 - 8:30 PM (not for After School Productions)
    • Wednesdays from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Thursdays from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Saturdays from 1:00 - 4:30 PM
    • Sundays from 1:00 - 4:00 PM

After School Production Company

Welcoming students with interests in any area of theatre, The Production Company provides all students with an opportunity to create theatre together through rehearsal, creativity, and collaboration.


The vision of The Production Company is to develop and inspire a community of self-confident, insightful creators with a passion for collaboration, theatre, and the arts through exploration, education, practice, and performance.  By participating, you help us to accomplish this goal.

December Production (one cast Grades 2 - 7; one cast Grades 8 - 12) - Peter and the Starcatcher

  • First Three Required Rehearsals:
    • Monday, September 24 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Wednesday, September 26 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Thursday, September 27 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
  • Final THREE Required Rehearsals:
    • Thursday, November 29 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Saturday, December 1 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM
    • Sunday, December 2 from 1:00 - 5:00 PM
  • Tech Rehearsals:
    • Tuesday, December 4 from 5:00 - 9:00 PM (for younger cast) 6:00 - 10:00 (for older cast);
    • Wednesday, December 5 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM (older cast);
    • Thursday, December 6 from 5:30 - 9:30 PM (younger cast)
  • Brush Up Rehearsal:
    • Thursday, December 13 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM (both casts)

Performances

Performances:

  • For older cast:
    • Friday, December 7 at 8:00 PM;
    • Sunday, December 9 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM;
    • Saturday, December 15 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM.
  • For younger cast:
    • Saturday, December 8 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
    • Friday, December 14 at 8:00 PM
    • Sunday, December 16 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM

Cost: $550 (+ $25 Registration Fee)

Sign Up

March Musical (Grades 2 - 12) - Titanic

  • First Three Required Rehearsals:
    • Monday, January 7 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Wednesday, January 9 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Thursday, January 10 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
  • Final Two Required Rehearsals:
    • Thursday, March 7 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Saturday, March 9 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM
  • Tech Rehearsals:
    • Monday, March 11 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
    • Wednesday, March 13 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
    • Thursday, March 14 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Brush Up Rehearsal:
    • Thursday, March 21 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM

Performances

Performances:

  • Friday, March 15 at 8:00 PM;
  • Saturday, March 16 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM;
  • Sunday, March 17 at 2:00 PM;
  • Friday, March 22 at 8:00 PM;
  • Saturday, March 23 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM;
  • Sunday, March 24 at 2:00 PM

Cost: $550 (+ $25 Registration Fee)

Sign Up

May Play (Grades 4 - 12) - Macbeth

  • First Three Required Rehearsals:
    • Monday, April 1 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Thursday, April 4 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Saturday, April 6 from 2:00 - 5:00 PM
  • Final Two Required Rehearsals:
    • Thursday, May 9 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Saturday, May 11 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM
  • Tech Rehearsals:
    • Monday, May 13 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
    • Tuesday, May 14 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
    • Wednesday, May 15 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM

Performances

Performances:

  • Thursday, May 16 at 7:30 PM
  • Friday, May 17 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 18 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, May 19 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM
  • Cost: $550 (+ $25 Registration Fee)

Production Conservatory

The Highwood Theatre's Production Conservatory is an audition-only program designed to offer an intensive training experience for performers in grades 7-12.


In addition to learning, rehearsing, and performing a top-quality, full-length musical production, the company will also include a series of multi-week masterclasses by New York and Los Angeles based artists, masterclasses by local theatre artists, private acting and/or vocal instruction for every student, and group coursework designed to support the production and growth as collaborative artists. 


Students enrolled in the program should expect to be challenged, and must remain committed to developing skills in all areas of musical theatre in a professional environment.


Students may audition for the January show, the June show, or both.

January Musical (Concentration on Acting - Grades 7 - 12) - A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder

  • Auditions (you will be notified of your acceptance into either program 3 days following your audition; you need only to attend one audition date):
    • Wednesday, August 29 from 6:00 - 8:00 PM
    • Wednesday, September 12 from 6:00 - 8:00 PM 
  • Initial Required Rehearsals:
    • Monday, October 1 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Wednesday, October 3 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Thursday, October 4 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Bi-Weekly Required Rehearsals:
    • Tuesday, October 16 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, October 30 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, November 13 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, November 27 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, December 11 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, January 8 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Final Two Required Rehearsals:
    • Thursday, January 10 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM
    • Saturday, January 12 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM

Tech Week and Performances

  • Tech Rehearsals:
    • Monday, January 14 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
    • Wednesday, January 16 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
    • Thursday, January 17 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Brush-Up Rehearsal:
    • Thursday, January 24 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM
  • Performances:
    • Friday, January 18 at 8:00 PM;
    • Saturday, January 19 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
    • Sunday, January 20 at 2:00 PM
    • Friday, January 25 at 8:00 PM
    • Saturday, January 26 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
    • Sunday, January 27 at 2:00 PM
  • Cost: $750 (+ $25 Registration Fee); Monthly payment option available

Sign Up For An Audition

June Musical (Concentration on Dance - Grades 7 - 12) - Footloose

  • Auditions (you will be notified of your acceptance into the program 3 days following your audition; you need only to attend one audition date): 
    • Wednesday, August 29 from 6:00 - 8:00 PM
    • Wednesday, September 12 from 6:00 - 8:00 PM
    • OR Tuesday, January 15 from 6:00 - 8:00 PM
  • Initial Required Rehearsals:
    • Monday, February 4 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, February 5 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Thursday, February 7 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Bi-Weekly Required Rehearsals:
    • Tuesday, February 19 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, March 5 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, March 19 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, April 2 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Monday, April 15 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, April 30 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, May 14 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
    • Tuesday, May 21 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Final Two Required Rehearsals:
    • Wednesday, May 22 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM
    • Thursday, May 23 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM

Tech Week and Performances

  • Tech Rehearsals:
    • Tuesday, May 28 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
    • Wednesday, May 29 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
    • Thursday, May 30 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Brush-Up Rehearsal:
    • Thursday, June 6 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM
  • Performances: 
    • Friday, May 31 at 8:00 PM
    • Saturday, June 1 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
    • Sunday, June 2 at 2:00 PM
    • Friday, June 7 at 8:00 PM
    • Saturday, June 8 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
    • Sunday, June 9 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM
  • Cost: $750 (+ $25 Registration Fee); Monthly payment option available

Productions By Invitation Only

These productions are designed to give experienced students, with a desire to work hard and learn, an opportunity to practice their craft in an environment that mimics working theatre professionals.  These productions generally have shorter, more intense rehearsal periods, and are open to current Highwood students by invitation only.  



September Play (Grades 9-12) - The Glass Menagerie

  • First Three Required Rehearsals: Monday, August 27 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM; Wednesday, August 29 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM; Thursday, August 30 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Final Two Required Rehearsals: Thursday, September 20 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM; Saturday, September 22 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM
  • Tech Rehearsals: Monday, September 24 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM; Tuesday, September 25 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM; Thursday, September 27 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Performances: Friday, September 28 at 8:00 PM; Saturday, September 29 at 8:00 PM; Sunday, September 30 at 2:00 PM; Friday, October 5 at 8:00 PM; Saturday, October 6 at 8:00 PM; Sunday, October 7 at 2:00 PM
  • Cost: $550 (+ $25 Registration Fee)


October Play (Grades 4 - 8) - Lend Me A Tenor

  • First Three Required Rehearsals: Wednesday, September 5 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM; Thursday, September 6 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM; Saturday, September 8 from 1:00 - 4:30 PM 
  • Final Two Required Rehearsals: Thursday, October 4 from 6:00 - 8:00 PM; Saturday, October 6 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM
  • Tech Rehearsals: Monday, October 8 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM; Tuesday, October 9 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM; Thursday, October 11 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Performances: Friday, October 12 at 8:00 PM; Saturday, October 13 at 8:00 PM; Sunday, October 14 at 2:00 PM; Friday, October 19 at 8:00 PM; Saturday, October 20 at 8:00 PM; Sunday, October 21 at 2:00 PM
  • Cost: $550 (+ $25 Registration Fee)


February Mixed Play (Grades 8 - 12) - cast made up half of students and half of professional actors - Noises Off

  • First Three Required Rehearsals: Monday, December 17 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM; Tuesday, December 18 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM; Wednesday, December 19 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Final Two Required Rehearsals: Thursday, February 7 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM; Saturday, February 9 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM
  • Tech Rehearsals: Monday, February 11 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM; Tuesday, February 12 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM; Wednesday, February 13 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM; Thursday, February 14 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Brush-Up Rehearsals: Thursday, February 21 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM; Wednesday, February 27 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM
  • Performances: Friday, February 15 at 8:00 PM; Saturday, February 16 at 8:00 PM; Friday, February 22 at 8:00 PM; Saturday, February 23 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM; Sunday, February 24 at 2:00 PM; Friday, March 1 at 8:00 PM; Saturday, March 2 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM; Sunday, March 3 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM
  • Cost: $550 (+ $25 Registration Fee)