Student productions

After School Productions

Open to any student regardless of past experience

Learn More

Production Conservatory

A comprehensive experience for motivated theatre students

learn more

Productions By-Invitation

Veteran Highwood students perform in advanced student or mixed productions

learn more

What to expect

How We Schedule Rehearsals

  • We set "potential rehearsal dates" for the Production (see below for the potential dates).  All rehearsals will be scheduled on those dates.
  • After you register for or are accepted into the Production, you get our "Dates Survey."  This survey lists all the potential rehearsal dates during the time period of rehearsals.
  • Families fill out the Dates Survey, marking days they can and cannot make.  
  • We take that information and come up with a rehearsal schedule that honors all families' conflicts.

image10

The Rehearsal Schedule

  • The first three rehearsals are required - all cast members must attend.  For After School Productions: The first one or two initial required rehearsals are generally placement auditions.  The other initial required rehearsals are read-throughs.
  • Each student can expect to have two or three rehearsals per week.
  • During the second-to-last week of the program, we have two “Final Required Rehearsals” to make sure everything comes together.
  • For the final week of the program, we have three “Tech Rehearsals” before the performances.
  • Potential Rehearsal Days:
    • Mondays from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Tuesdays from 6:00 - 8:30 PM (not for After School Productions)
    • Wednesdays from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Thursdays from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Saturdays from 1:00 - 4:30 PM
    • Sundays from 1:00 - 4:00 PM

image11

After School Production Company

Welcoming students with interests in any area of theatre, The Production Company provides all students with an opportunity to create theatre together through rehearsal, creativity, and collaboration.


The vision of The Production Company is to develop and inspire a community of self-confident, insightful creators with a passion for collaboration, theatre, and the arts through exploration, education, practice, and performance.  By participating, you help us to accomplish this goal.

November: The Highwood Cabaret (Grades 2 - 12)

A fully-staged cabaret-style performance featuring solo and group performances by Highwood's talented students, staff, and pit instrumentalists.


  • First Three Required Rehearsals:
    • Monday, September 24 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Wednesday, September 26 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
    • Thursday, September 27 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
  • Final TWO Required Rehearsals:
    • Monday, November 11 from 5:30 - 9:30 PM
    • Wednesday, November 13 from 5:30 - 9:30 PM
  • Tech Rehearsals:
    • Thursday, November 14 from 5:30 - 9:30 PM
    • Saturday, March 16 - arrive at 3:00 PM and stay through performance

Performances

Performance:

  • Saturday, March 16 at 8:00 PM

Cost: $125

Sign Up

December Musical (Grades 2-12)

 It's time for Highwood students to raise the roof in our biggest dazzling December musical production to date, full of dancing, singing, acting, and a lot of dancing nuns!


First Three Required Rehearsals:

  • Monday, September 23 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
  • Wednesday, September 25 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, September 26 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM

Final Two Required Rehearsals:

  • Thursday, December 5 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 14 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM

Tech Rehearsals:

  • Monday, December 9 from 5:30 - 9:30 PM
  • Wednesday, December 11 from 5:30 - 9:30 PM
  • Thursday, December 12 from 5:30 - 9:30 PM

Performances

Performances:

  • Friday, December 13 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, December 14 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, December 15 at 2:00 and 7:00 PM

Cost: $575

Sign Up

March Musical (Grades 2 - 12)

Beware: America's most infamous partners in crime arrive in town - buckle up for a wild tale of love, crime, and fame.


First Three Required Rehearsals:

  • Monday, January 13 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
  • Wednesday, January 15 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM
  • Thursday, January 16 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM

Final Two Required Rehearsals:

  • Thursday, March 12 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 14 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM

Tech Rehearsals:

  • Monday, March 16 from 5:30 - 9:30 PM
  • Wednesday, March 18 from 5:30 - 9:30 PM
  • Thursday, March 19 from 5:30 - 9:30 PM

Performances

Performances:

  • Friday, March 20 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, March 21 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, March 22 at 2:00 PM and 7:00 PM

Cost: $575

Sign Up

May Play (Grades 4 - 12) - A Midsummer Night's Dream

Journey with us into the lands of fairies for Shakespeare’s magical tale of star-crossed lovers in our annual modern, gender-blind Shakespeare production.


First Three Required Rehearsals:

  • Wednesday, April 1 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Thursday, April 2 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Saturday, April 4 from 1:00 - 4:30 PM

Final Two Required Rehearsals:

  • Thursday, May 14 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 16 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM

Tech Rehearsals:

  • Monday, May 18 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Wednesday, May 20 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Thursday, May 21 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM

Performances

Performances:

  • Friday, May 22 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 23 at 2:00 & 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, May 24 at 2:00 PM

Cost: $575

Production Conservatory

The Highwood Theatre's Production Conservatory is an audition-only program designed to offer an intensive training experience for performers in grades 7-12.


In addition to learning, rehearsing, and performing a top-quality, full-length musical production, the company will also include a series of multi-week masterclasses by New York and Los Angeles based artists, masterclasses by local theatre artists, private acting and/or vocal instruction for every student, and group coursework designed to support the production and growth as collaborative artists. 


Students enrolled in the program should expect to be challenged, and must remain committed to developing skills in all areas of musical theatre in a professional environment.


Students may audition for the January show, the June show, or both.

January Musical - Concentration on Acting/Voice, with Modern Dance Styles (Grades 7 - 12)

Auditions (you will be notified of your acceptance into either program 3 days following your audition; you need only to attend one audition date):

  • Saturday, September 7 from 12:00 - 2:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 17 from 7:00 - 9:00 PM

Initial Required Rehearsals:

  • Monday, October 7 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, October 8 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Saturday, October 12 from 1:00 - 4:30 PM

Bi-Weekly Required Rehearsals:

  • Tuesday, October 15 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, October 22 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, November 5 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, November 12 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, November 26 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 10 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, December 17 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday January 7 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 14 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM

Final Two Required Rehearsals:

  • Thursday, January 16 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM
  • Saturday, January 18 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM

Tech Week and Performances

Tech Rehearsals:

  • Tuesday, January 21 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Wednesday, January 22 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Thursday, January 23 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM

Brush-Up Rehearsal:

  • Thursday, January 30 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM

Performances:

  • Friday, January 24 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, January 25 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, January 26 at 2:00 PM
  • Friday, January 31 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 1 at 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, February 2 at 2:00 PM

Cost: $275

Sign Up For An Audition

June Musical - Concentration on Dance, with Acting/Voice (Grades 7 - 12)

Auditions (you will be notified of your acceptance into the program 3 days following your audition; you need only to attend one audition date): 

  • Saturday, September 7 from 12:00 - 2:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 17 from 7:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, January 28 from 7:00 - 9:00 PM

Initial Required Rehearsals:

  • Monday, February 3 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, February 4 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Saturday, February 8 from 1:00 - 4:30 PM

Bi-Weekly Required Rehearsals:

  • Tuesday, February 11 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, February 25 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, March 10 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, March 24 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, April 7 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, April 21 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, May 5 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Tuesday, May 12 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM

Final Two Required Rehearsals:

  • Tuesday, May 19 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Wednesday, May 20 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM
  • Thursday, May 21 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM

Tech Week and Performances

Tech Rehearsals:

  • Tuesday, May 26 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Wednesday, May 27 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Thursday, May 28 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM

Brush-Up Rehearsal:

  • Thursday, June 4 from 6:00 - 9:30 PM

Performances: 

  • Friday, May 29 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, May 30 at 2:00 & 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, May 31 at 2:00 PM
  • Friday, June 5 at 8:00 PM
  • Saturday, June 6 at 2:00 & 8:00 PM
  • Sunday, June 7 at 2:00 PM

Cost: $775; Monthly payment option available

Productions By Invitation Only

These productions are designed to give experienced students, with a desire to work hard and learn, an opportunity to practice their craft in an environment that mimics working theatre professionals.  These productions generally have shorter, more intense rehearsal periods, and are open to current Highwood students by invitation only.  



September Musical (Grades 8-12)

  • Rehearsals/Dates: TBA
  • Cost: $575


October Play (Grades 9 - 12)

  • First Three Required Rehearsals: Wednesday, September 4 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM; Thursday, September 5 from 6:00 - 8:30 PM; Saturday, September 7 from 1:00 - 4:30 PM
  • Final Two Required Rehearsals: Thursday, October 10 from 6:00 - 9:00 PM; Saturday, October 12 from 12:00 - 6:00 PM
  • Tech Rehearsals: Monday, October 14 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM; Wednesday, October 16 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM; Thursday, October 17 from 6:00 - 10:00 PM
  • Performances: Friday, October 18 at 8:00 PM; Saturday, October 19 at 2:00 and 8:00 PM
  • Cost: $575